The PCSO will host a Firearms Safety Course on Saturday, July 15th.
We will announce on social media when we will begin taking reservations for this class, so go ahead and mark this day on your calendar and keep your eyes open for the announcement and how to get signed up.
This class will run from 8:00 am - Noon.
If registration for the class fills up, a second afternoon class will be added for 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm.
People who take this class will learn: Gun Safety, Proper Handling, Safe Storage, and Florida's Firearms Laws.
This class is also an approved training course to qualify for a Florida Concealed Weapons license.
Even though Constitutional Carry in Florida went into effect on July 1st, there are still benefits to having a permit. Not all states allow for concealed carry without a permit, so if you travel to one that requires a permit and recognizes Florida permits, you will be covered. Also, Florida permit holders are exempt from the 3-day waiting period when purchasing new firearms.
Cost of the class is $45; proceeds go to Polk Sheriff's Charities, Inc., and the cost is non-refundable.
*we will have handguns available for the hands-on portion of the course, but we prefer you bring your own if possible.